Friday, March 2, 2012

Windows 8 registry shows nine separate flavors to choose from

With Windows 7, you had six versions to choose from. That was a lot to choose from if you asked a basic computer user. But from what the screenshot above is imposing, you will have even more to choose from. Engadget received some info about this, and they went to to regedit and found out the info themselves, which is shown above. 

So according to what the consumer preview is saying, these are going to be all of the Windows 8 versions:

  • Windows 8 Starter
  • Windows 8 Home Basic
  • Windows 8 Home Premium
  • Windows 8 Professional
  • Windows 8 Professional Plus
  • Windows 8 Enterprise
  • Windows 8 Enterprise Eval
  • Windows 8 Ultimate
  • Windows 8 ARM Edition
Of course, this is still a consumer preview (beta), but if these keys stay the same, novice or basic computer users will have some trouble if they are going to be buying Windows 8 from a store instead of letting it be loaded onto a PC. The Enterprise Eval Edition is of course for evaluation purposes, but what is interesting is the Professional Plus Edition. Office 2010 Pro Plus adds in extra integration with Sharepoint and Office Communications Server, leaving me to wonder if this flavor of Windows 8 won't offer some similar collaborative tools.

Anyways, you can post your thoughts in the comments below.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: This is Blogger's comment system. This system is a backup for when Disqus can't be reached by your computer, such as when your network blocks connections to The comment policy still applies regardless.